Kissing Adrien by Siri L. Mitchell

Hello Romantics!

I hope you all have had a good week!

I’m back again with a very sweet read called Kissing Adrien.

This is actually from one of my early reads collection. I had forgotten it was on my kindle until I scrolled through my library (which holds over 2,000 books, cookbooks, and short stories by the way.) and came across this little jewel.

Kissing Adrien is the story of  Claire Le Noyer and Adrien Delaportes. Claire is a half French half American girl who majored in Accounting instead History, lives in Seattle instead of Paris, and has a Pastor boyfriend who treats her like a pet dog rather than a beautiful desirable woman.

As Claire is on her way to help take care of her dadin Florida, her parents receive word that they have inherited some property from an unknown relative in Paris, France.  Since her father is recovering from a serious back injury they send Claire in his place to claim the inheritance.

Adrien is a childhood friend whom Claire has had a crush on for years. He’s highly intelligent, highly opinionated, and in Claire’s mind perfectly perfect. He picks Claire up at the airport and serves as her guide, chauffeur, and very willing helper throughout the story.

Also involved in this book is the mystery of the deceased relative. Who was she? What was her life like? The answer may shock you.

I think my personal favorite scene in the book is when Adrien throws away Claire’s clothes. Yes Romantics, you heard me right. Adrien didn’t like Claire’s clothes, which consisted of mostly polos, t-shirts, jeans, and shorts. So while Claire was in the bathroom one morning he threw away her clothes (underwear included), borrowed a dress, and (after she finally calmed down) took her shopping for a new wardrobe.

Another thing I liked about this story is that it brought into the forefront many religious attitudes about drinking, politics, and a few other topics.

While there isn’t a lot of physical displays of affection in this book Ms. Mitchell really knows how to do a huge build up to the kiss at the end!

So who was the mysterious relative? Will Claire break free of her boring life? Only reading the book will answer those questions!

image

Kissing Adrien by Siri Mitchell
 

Re-readability Rating:
3 out 5 stars
I have re-read parts a few times. I like the overall story and love to read some of Claire’s naivete.

Romance Rating:
3 out of 5 stars
The kiss at the end is so worth it!

2 thoughts on “Kissing Adrien by Siri L. Mitchell

    • Hi Virginia! It was a great read and definitely not your run of the mill romance. I’ve been to Paris but unfortunately I was about 2 or 3 at the time, so I don’t remember it. My dream is to go back one day so I can see it again. But until then I’ll just have to read about it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

