Pride, Prejudice, and Cheese Grits (Austen Takes the South) by Mary Jane Hathaway

Hello Dear Romantics!

So yes I’ve been a bad blogger. I haven’t posted since the end of May!!!  How could I just leave you all to wonder about the next great read!  All I can do is apologize. I promise it wasn’t from lack of great reads just a lack of motivation to get my act together and read them.

So to make up for my lack of communication with you all I’m offering this next great read to one of you. (Details at the end of the review.)

What is this great and endearing find you may ask?

Pride, Prejudice, and Cheese Grits by Mary Jane Hathaway

I was scrolling along through Amazon looking for something to add to my kindle collection when this title caught my attention. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a big Austen fan and my all time favorite novel is Pride and Prejudice!!!!

So I think to myself, “Pride and Prejudice, set in the south during modern times…Sounds like a winner to me!”

And my faithful Romantics it was a true winner.

The part of Elizabeth Bennet was played by a spunky college history professor by the name of Shelby Roswell. Shelby is up for tenure at her small college and is trying to recover from a scalding book review by a well renowned Civil War Historian Ransom Fielding (Mr. Darcy).  To her dismay, Professor Fielding has taken a guest professorship at her college.

Ransom Fielding is just looking for a little bit of a sabbatical from his tenured position at Yale. All he is looking for is some peace to write and hopefully come to grips with the loss of his wife six years ago.  Never did he imagine falling love with the one person whose career he came close to destroying!

This book has several of the different themes and characters from the Pride and Prejudice book. There’s even a character that is a combination of Mr. Collins and Mr. Wickham?  If you are a Jane Austen fan you know which characters I’m talking about and you’re probably scratching your head and going WHAT????  I know I was a little confused at first but it works. Trust Me.

There is one expletive in the book and normally I don’t review books on here that contain bad language but the whole book was so entertaining and well written that I decided to bend my rule this one time.

So Romantics, to make up for my long absence, I am offering a free copy of this wonderful book to one of you!

Just leave a comment telling me your favorite Jane Austen character and Why, by Tuesday, July 30th, 2013 11:59pm est. and I will randomly pick a winner to be announced on Wednesday, July 31st, 2013.

or if you can’t wait to read this book make sure you go to:

Pride, Prejudice, and Cheese Grits by Mary Jane Hathaway

Pride, Prejudice, and Cheese Grits

RE-Readability:

4 out of 5 stars

Oh yes I’ve already re-read parts of the book about 6 times already and I just finished it last Saturday!

Romance  Rating:

3 out of 5 stars

There are only two big kissing scenes but they are quite lovely. The build-up to their relationship is the best part of this book though.

6 thoughts on “Pride, Prejudice, and Cheese Grits (Austen Takes the South) by Mary Jane Hathaway

  1. Virginia says:

    Oh, this review really made my day! I’m so glad you liked it! Hey, to sweeten the pot, I’ll throw in a paper copy of PPCG or the sequel (Emma, Mr. Knightley, and Chili-Slaw Dogs) to a commenter. Thanks for your post, Shineka!
    P.S. That expletive didn’t even set of my radar when I wrote the book but it’s given a lot of people trouble… so I may just take it out. Thanks for letting me know you noticed it, too.

    • To be honest, I wasn’t offended by it. Even though I’m a Christian, I have flesh moments from time to time and I have thought that word. (Had to repent right away but I’ve thought it.) But because I have some young ladies (middle and high school age) who sometimes read my blog I wanted to make sure their parents knew. As to sweetening the pot…I’m excited to a double give away!!! Thanks so much for offering. Thanks for stopping by. By the way I have the second book and am looking forward to reading it soon.

  2. It would have to be Emma – she’s irrepressible – much like THIS AUTHOR.
    I’m such a fan!
    Would love a paper copy! 🙂
    Thanks so much for the fun review.
    Her newest, Leaving Liberty, is doing very well. It’s in the top 5 on my TBR list.
    Now to find the time…

  3. I drop a leave a response whenever I especially enjoy a post on a site or
    if I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion.
    It is a result of the sincerness communicated in the
    article I browsed. And on this article Pride, Prejudice,
    and Cheese Grits (Austen Takes the South) by Mary Jane
    Hathaway | Cause Everyone Needs Romance. I was actually excited enough
    to drop a comment 😉 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it look as if like some of these comments come across like they are written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional online social sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post. Would you make a list the complete urls of all your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • Hi Mary Ann!

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I just started blogging last year so I’m still very new to this whole thing. As far as any other blogs I have a personal one here on WordPress but right now its inactive. I have to come up with some new ideas and start posting on it soon. I don’t have a Author Facebook page just yet. I’m waiting until I finish my book before I get it up and running. I do have a twitter feed but I’m not much good at tweeting on it. Wow, I think I just sounded like an old person just then. I believe you can find me by typing in my name Shineka Robinson. I don’t have a linkedin account yet but I guess I should look into doing that. Have a great weekend and please stop back by anytime! 🙂

Leave a Reply

