An Interview with Linda Carroll-Bradd

Hello Romantics!

Today on the blog, I’m pleased to be interviewing author Linda Carroll-Bradd.  I was introduced to Linda and her writing through this very blog about two or three weeks ago.  After reading a manuscript she sent me I knew I definitely wanted to talk to her and get her take on life and writing in general.

Welcome to the blog Ms. Linda Carroll-Bradd!

Hi Linda! Thank you for joining us today.  So for my readers who don’t know you very well please tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a native Californian who returned home last May after living 12 years in San Antonio, Texas. I write contemporary and historical sweet romance with many of my stories being set in Texas. My four children are grown and on their own, and my husband and I live in a national forest in southern California with our two dogs.

What would you say was your greatest influence in your writing?

Early in my writing, I had the good fortune to discover the Romance Writers of America and joined a local chapter. This organization of more than 10,000 members supports and guides those interested in learning how to write a romance novel. I wrote for 12 years before I received the first call that an editor wanted to buy what I’d written, which was a confession story. In 2006, I sold my first short story to The Wild Rose Press. I also learned that my writing benefits from working with a critique group.

I know you write mostly novellas and short stories. Have you ever thought of writing a full length novel?

I have written several full-length novels. One is currently being reviewed by an editor, and the other needs revisions to make the plot a bit tighter. The novel I wrote when I first started writing almost 20 years ago was my learning tool and will probably never see the light of day—although I love the story.

So the Novella I read was called Dipping in a Toe.  Can you give our readers a short synopsis of the story? You know something that will make them want to rush over to Amazon and snatch it right up. 😉

Jessa Landers has a secret crush on her teens’ swim coach. A widow for three years, she’s managing her life and enjoys her freedom—except for long, lonely evenings when she craves an attentive man.

Coach Rick Grant loves being a high school teacher and swim coach. Surrounded by families has him yearning for his own romantic connection—and his eye is on Jessa.

Will Jessa protect the balance of her family life, or take a second chance on love?

Who from this short story would you say is your favorite character and why?

Got to be Jessa, because I wanted to explore a character who takes the step of making a choice just for herself after putting her kids first for several years. I also wanted to write the story in first person and that always gets you into the thoughts and emotions of the character.

I personally, am a purveyor of strange and weird facts, the crazier the fact the easier it sticks in my brain.  Do you have any strange little personality “hiccups”?  What would you say is your strangest one?

Although I write sweet stories, I love action films and am an avid reader of thrillers by Scandinavian authors.

Thank you again Linda for joining us. Before you go, Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

The process of writing is comprised of both storytelling and lots of revision. Know that at least 50% of writing is the time spent perfecting and refining sentences and paragraphs so they are clear and concise.

So there you have it Romantics a great new novella by Linda Carroll-Bradd.

For one of you lucky Romantics Linda is giving away one of her novellas!

From those who leave a comment on this blog, I will draw a name and that person will be eligible for a title of his or her choice from Linda’s backlist. You have until Tuesday, April 23rd 11:59 pm est. to enter and a winner will be randomly chosen. Be sure to include your email address: name(at)internet(dot)com

 

Website: Linda Carroll-Bradd

My blog Linda Carroll-Bradd Blog

Facebook Linda’s Facebook Fan Page

Twitter  Linda’s Twitter Fan Link

 Can Jessa let another man into her life after being a widow for three years? Will Rick ‘s age be a problem for Jessa? Can Rick find a place in Jessa’s  very organized and settled life?

You’ll have to read to find out!

Dipping In A Toe By Linda Carroll-Bradd

Dipping In A Toe By Linda Carroll-Bradd

Dipping In A Toe Amazon Link

Re-readability Rating:

3.5 stars

I could see pulling up my kindle and coming back to read this story for a quick romance fix every so often.

Romance Rating:

3 stars

Some nice flirtation, snappy banter, and a very sweet male lead.

😉

2 thoughts on “An Interview with Linda Carroll-Bradd

Leave a Reply

