True Devotion by Dee Henderson

Hello Romantics!

I know I told you all that this blog is mostly to spotlight independent authors but, there are times when a professionally produced book gets me too excited for words!

True Devotion by Dee Henderson is one of those books. Since this is a blog I guess I better find some words to explain this action packed romance.

This is the story of Kelly and Joe:

Kelly’s husband, Nick, was a Navy Seal who was killed three years ago during a mission.  Joe was Nick’s best friend and commanding officer. The day he came home from the mission injured and with the news of loosing his best friend nearly killed him.

Fast forward 3 years to the opening of the book. Kelly is a life guard on duty when she notices two teenage boys are caught in a  riptide.  She quickly moves into action with her partner to go out and save the boys. Unfortunately, Kelly also gets caught in the riptide and she and the boy she is rescuing, Ryan are caught in the ocean trying to tread water and stay alive.

Joe and some of the other Seals are called out to help with the rescue efforts. When Joe finds them Kelly is exhausted and barely conscious but utters three fateful words that changes their friendship forever: “I love you.”

Nice opening right!?!

The twist to this little romance is that the man responsible for killing her husband and injuring Joe is still out there unpunished and is once again stealing and selling weapons only this time, Raider, is closer to home than they all know.

Now, I’m an Army brat so some of the military lingo made sense to me but Ms. Henderson did provide a glossary to help out some of us civilians who are a little slow on the uptake. 😉

So will Kelly and Joe end up together? Can Kelly once again give her heart to an active duty Seal knowing that he could be taken away from her? Can Joe find the man that killed his best friend and make a relationship work between himself and Kelly?

You’ll have to read to find out!

True Devotion

Re-readability Rating:

3.5 stars out of 5

Read it last summer and every once and a while I have to go back for a refresher.

Romance Rating:

4 out of 5 stars

Some lovely kissing scenes.

4 thoughts on “True Devotion by Dee Henderson

    • Well, I guess I could relate in part because I am an Army Brat. Also at the time I got it it was being offered for free! Lol. I’m a free book junkie. 😉 There are two more books in the series that I hope to get to soon!

Leave a Reply

