Milk Maid in Heaven by Samantha Jillian Bayarr

Hello Romantics!

So I fell a little behind in my review/blog process and almost didn’t have a book for you this week. Don’t get me wrong I have tons of reading material from the last year. I just want to make sure I share a wide variety of books to catch many different interests.

So this week’s review is a novella I read last night actually. With so many titles similar to that in the Romance category on Amazon I was a little skeptical as to whether or not I was going to like it.

Here’s the premise:

A prisoner, Mitch Rutherford, is in the last few months of a three year prison sentence. While in prison Mitch became saved and entered into the work release program with a local dairy farm operation. The owner of the farm befriends Mitch and offers him a job once he gets out of prison. The owner, Ethan Stuart is dying of cancer and has a surviving daughter who comes home during her Spring Break to see about her father and the dairy farm. Emily Stuart is a no nonsense type of gal who is suspicious of the prisoner’s relationship with her father. She is convinced that Mitch has got to be some kind of smooth talker out to con her father. However, there is something about Mitch that makes her want to trust him.

This story is told in the third person point of view but mostly from Mitch’s side of the story. It’s very sweet and endearing in some ways. There were a few times during the story where I felt the storyline was a little too simplistic and not much conflict involved. That maybe because this was a novella and not a full length novel. I think there is potential for so much more for this story.

Overall, I liked the story. I think Ms. Bayarr has some great characters here and I hope to read a full length novel from her soon.

Will Mitch convince Emily that he’s not a con artist? Will Emily and Mitch fall in love? Will Ethan approve of his daughter being with a convict? Will Ethan accept salvation before he dies?

Click on the link below and get Milk Maid in Heaven to find out!

Milk Maid in Heaven

Re-readability Rating:

2.5 stars out of 5

While I liked the story I don’t see myself purposely seeking out this story to re-read it on a regular basis

Romance Rating:

3 out of 5 stars

Sweet sentimental romance. Not much physical contact.

3 thoughts on “Milk Maid in Heaven by Samantha Jillian Bayarr

  1. I wish you could have a second Amazon.com account under the ‘Cause Everyone Needs Romance’ name. This, and the others you do, would be great to put up there…and maybe drive other people to your blog.

    Thanks for the heads up about the book. I may or may not read it. Of course I’ve got a hundred books I need to read, but that I may not be able to get to for a while, lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

