A Christian Cougar By Vanessa Gray Bartal

What do you get when you add a 33 yr old widow with a two-year old, a 25 yr old Youth Pastor, an imaginary dead husband, and a cast of well-meaning but over protective friends and family?

You get a delightful book called A Christian Cougar!

I discovered this book last year while going through Amazon’s Kindle books looking for some free Christian Romance novels.  While the book wasn’t free (it was only 99 cents), I couldn’t help but be intrigued by the title.  I mean think about it, A Christian Cougar? Who wouldn’t be curious about a title like that?

Ms. Bartal did not disappoint in this story.

Mare is a 33 yr. old widow and mother of a cute little 2 yr old named Mallory who she calls Mal for short. She is also a semi famous mystery writer. When the book first opens you read a scene between Mare and her husband Jack before he passes way in a car accident. Cut to a year later and Mare is still grieving her husband’s death. Enters Tate, The new handsome Youth Pastor, who happens to be only 25 yrs old!

Mare is instantly attracted to Tate but can’t figure out if it’s because he is young, or because she hasn’t had a man in her life for a year.

All though I love all of the characters in this book, My favorite would have to be Mare.  She has some of the most off the wall things happen to her during the course of this book. From getting her hand stuck in an antique jar to being fixed up on a date with her mother’s boyfriend!  Mare handles every situation with grace, and a certain amount of comic flare.

Now of course there is some drama. Mare after all has only been widowed a year and is trying to find herself along the way as she explores her relationship with Tate and there are a few busybodies she has to contend with in the book but, I love that this story shows you the good and the bad of having a church family in a respectful manner.

Oh wait! I mentioned an imaginary dead husband in the opening didn’t I? Well some of the best dialogue in this book is between Mare and the “ghost” of Jack.  You can see just how much they loved each other and why it is so hard for Mare to move on.

Will Mare and Tate end up together? Will her friends and family back off and let her be happy? Will Mare always see Jack where ever she goes?

Read the book. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

A Christian Cougar

A Christian Cougar

Re-readabilty:

Would I read this book more than once?

I give this book a 5 on a scale of 1 to 5 for re-readability. I find myself going back at least once a month to re-read either the whole book or some of my favorite parts.

Romantic scenes:

On a scale of 1 to 5 definitely deserves a 5

There are plenty of good clean kissing scenes and the playful banter between Mare and Tate are winners in my book.

4 thoughts on “A Christian Cougar By Vanessa Gray Bartal

  1. You know…I’m going to have to bring this book back up on my Kindle. When you first recommended it, I wasn’t sure what to expect…but I loved the book as much as you did. And I’m thinking it’s just the incentive I need to get back into my treadmill schedule. Reading a book I know I’ll enjoy is a good incentive…especially if I limit it to ONLY when I’m on the torture device…um…treadmill. Of course that could backfire with A Christian Cougar. I might finish it in one session, and then I’d need a body cast… 🙂

    • LOL!!! I definitely love this book. I can’t help but laugh everytime I read it, Even though I already know what’s going to happen. Now if you do re-read it while on the treadmill make sure you put yourself on a timer so that you don’t kill yourself while trying to finish the book.

  2. That, I will admit, is my biggest concern. With the last one I read, I kept getting into the story and forgetting how long I’d been walking. And I like a Christian Cougar even more.

    Fortunately for me, I’ve turned into an airhead the past few months, so I don’t remember a lot of the story, just the basics, and that I laughed a lot. I know I’ll remember as I read it again, but right now, I’m just looking forward to a good story and some quality time with my dust collector. 🙂

    • Your Dust Collector. Sounds like my friend Gym. He and I have never gotten along. Whenever I go see him he makes me sweat and when I leave I’m even more tired and sore than when I first arrived! I say who needs friends like Gym?

Leave a Reply

